GLOBUS Policy Advisory Board

The GLOBUS Policy Advisory Board is an influential, high-level group contributing with non-academic perspectives and ensuring the relevance of GLOBUS’ research for policy-making and for the society at large.

Members of the board

Photo: Foreign and Commonwealth Office (Flickr)

Sir Robert Cooper

Sir Robert Cooper is a diplomat who was the Director-General of External and Political-Military Affairs of the Council of the European Union. Cooper has also been Counsellor in the European External Action Service and a Special Advisor at the European Commission. He is a member of the European Council on Foreign Relations. He has also been a Visiting Professor at LSE IDEAS and is an acclaimed publisher on foreign affairs.

Photo: Forum of Strategic Dialogue

Alfredo Conte

Alfredo Conte is Head of the Strategic Planning Division at the European External Action Service since 2011. Conte graduated with honours in Law at the Faculty of Law of the University of Naples. He has been in diplomatic service at the Italian Ministry of Foreign Affairs, and has served as Consul at the Consulate General of Italy in Hong Kong and as First Secretary at the Embassy of Italy in Berlin.

Photo: European Parliament Labour Party

Linda McAvan

Linda McAvan has been a Member of the European Parliament since 1998 (Group of Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats), and she is since 2014 chair of the EP Committee on Development (DEVE). McAvan was a key actor in shaping the EU’s position on the UN’s sustainable development goals, and also in coordinating the EU’s position at the UN Climate Change talks in Paris in 2015.

Photo: Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz

Lukas Meyer

Lukas Meyer is Professor of philosophy at Karl-Franzens University Graz. He was one of the lead authors of the climate justice section and formed part of Working Group III – Mitigation of Climate Change of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC). Meyer is the founding editor of the peer-reviewed journal Moral Philosophy and Politics publishing original philosophical articles on issues of public relevance.

Photo: Foreign and Commonwealth Office (Flickr)

Madeleine Selina Rees

Madeleine Selina Rees is Secretary General of the Women's International League for Peace and Freedom. She is former Head of the Women’s Rights and Gender Unit for the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights, and Head of Office of HCHR in Bosnia and Herzegovina. Rees has brought discrimination cases to the ECHR and ECJ, and has helped to expose human rights abuses related to the sex trade, trafficking and forced prostitution.

Photo: Nordic Council

Erik Solheim

Erik Solheim is Executive Director of the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP). He has been Chair of the OECD Development Assistance Committee, and has serves as UNEP special envoy for environment, conflict and disaster, and as Norway’s Minister of the Environment and Minister of International Development. Solheim has also been main negotiator in the peace process in Sri Lanka.

Photo: Swedish Green Party

Bodil Valero

Bodil Valero is a Member of the European Parliament (Group of the Greens/European Free Alliance) and former Member of the Swedish Parliament. She is member of the EP’s Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs (LIBE) and the Subcommittee on Security and Defence (SEDE), and has a particular focus on migration policies and global justice issues such as climate, trade and development, peace and security.

Photo: Human Rights Watch

Minky Worden

Minky Worden is Director of Global Initiatives at Human Rights Watch, and has alsoserved as HRW's Media Director. Worden has worked in Hong Kong as adviser to Democratic Party chairman Martin Lee and worked at the Department of Justice in Washington, DC as a speechwriter for the US Attorney General. She is a member of the Council on Foreign Relations and an elected member of the Overseas Press Club's Board of Governors.



Published Aug. 1, 2017 3:47 PM - Last modified Feb. 11, 2019 10:38 AM